Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First time Nginx User having troubles with setup

Posted by naupe 
First time Nginx User having troubles with setup
May 02, 2019 10:32PM
Hello Nginx community. Maybe you guys can help me out?

I recently bought a Dell R710 Server for my home network and have installed ProxMox VE 5.3 as the main OS for VMs. I already have multiple VMs hosted on this server, and eventually moved into a lab environment: a GitLab VM, Discourse Forum VM, etc. I'm quite new to setting up a web environment and have been taking the advice of a friend with experience: he suggested I would need to create an Nginx VM that would route the other VMs through my one public IP Address (a Reverse Proxy). And thus why I'm here ...

I have been following this guide so far.
https://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/install-and-configure-nginx-on-ubuntu-linux-18-04-lts/

I have created an Ubuntu 18.04 LTS VM and from there followed all the steps up to "Test and gracefully reload nginx server". I have set Forwarded port 80 of this VM's local address, and have gotten the "Welcome to nginx!" message when I connect to my External IP with HTTP in a browser.

Now, back to what I was saying before: I have gotten to "Test and gracefully reload nginx server" without any issues and when I run the following command (Let's say my reserved DNS is "nginx.myreserveddns.com"):
# host nginx.myreserveddns.com
nginx.myreserveddns.com has address 92.242.140.22