Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

(TomS) cgi-bin execution of bash shell and C programs?

Posted by TomS 
(TomS) cgi-bin execution of bash shell and C programs?
September 14, 2016 07:59PM
Hello All,

I have created multiple interactive web pages where I store the HTML file in the /var/www/html directory.
These HTML web pages will then call a cgi-bin bash shell script to do the heavy lifting and return the results requested.
I also use the proccgi.c C program in the same location as the cgi shell script to handle the POST info from the web page and
it then hands off the field name information as (from HTML) name=abc to the CGI shell script as FORM_abc.
I have been writing in shell from the early years of Unix.

I have tried to get NGINX to allow execution of both C and SHELL programs on XiVO with NO SUCCESS.
I am new to NGINX vs Apache.
I posted this on the PBX-in-a-Flash Forum and Ward Mundy suggested that I place it on the XiVO Forum.
http://pbxinaflash.com/community/threads/toms-xivo-cgi-bin-problems.20156/#post-125067
I just signed up as a new user and am looking for a long term relationship as I have been using Asterisk since the old Asterick-At-Home (AAH) days.

I am currently testing some of my tools on my VirtualBox running XiVO 16.10.

I am attaching a sample/test HTML file to be placed in the /var/www/html directory called 'testit.html'.
I am also attaching a sample/test bash shell cgi script to be placed in the /usr/lib/cgi-bin directory called 'test.sh'.

If I can find out what needs to be changed to allow the HTML web page to call the CGI shell script (and later the proccgi.c program) and return the info requested, I will be very grateful.

Thank You in advance!
Tom Schmitt (TomS)
dtschmitt@gmail.com
Attachments:
open | download - testit.html (764 bytes)
open | download - testit.sh (1.9 KB)
Re: (TomS) cgi-bin execution of bash shell and C programs?
September 15, 2016 02:14AM