Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Noobs questions about Nginx user...

Posted by Andrea 
Noobs questions about Nginx user...
June 06, 2009 04:07AM
Hi guys, i'm a designer that just started using webservers so sorry in advance for my stupid questions :)

I've installed Nginx on my server (Ubuntu 8.10), and everything is working fine, but in the config file i can see that nginx want an user named www-data... but my ubuntu doesn't have one...
Now my question is... even if everything is working fine without this user should i create one? And then? Should i give my Rails application folders permissions to this www-data user?
Is this very important and why? Or if everything is working (maybe nginx is using my andrea user?) fine i can leave the server as it is without www-data?

Thanks for helping a damsel in distress :)

Edited 5 time(s). Last edit at 06/06/2009 04:10AM by Andrea.
Re: Noobs questions about Nginx user...
June 06, 2009 09:47AM
If you installed a package then that package perhaps created the user "www-data"? From the command line you can run

[code]
# cat /etc/passwd | grep www-data
[/code]

to confirm there is such a user. If you already did that and I'm insulting your intelligence then I apologize. :)

You can also run

[code]
# ps -elf | grep nginx
[/code]

to see what user owns the nginx worker process(es).

In any event, it's not essential that you use that user. Nginx runs a master process and one or more workers. The master is started by and owned by root and the workers by whatever user is listed in nginx.conf. So you can edit as follows:

nginx.conf[code]
user andrea;
[/code]

If that line is commented out then nginx will use the "default" user. If you compile from source, then you can set the default user in the ./configure command:

[code]
./configure --user=andrea
[/code]

If none is set at compile time the default "default user" is "nobody". Again this can be overridden in nginx.conf.