Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

"variables" in configuration

Posted by pacman 
"variables" in configuration
September 25, 2017 01:10PM
Intro / background (feel free to ignore) ...
First off, I'm very new to nginx. I've been using Apache for many years (since 1997 I think), but started moving to nginx a few days ago.

I had a go at it around a month ago, but due to too many difficulties, I gave up.
Since a friend convinced med that nginx is the way to go, I tried again and got it working with Perl CGI scripts, so I can move my servers.

The suggestion ...
As I'm new, I think it's important to catch my first-time experience.
Since I have many sites on Apache, I'd like to simplify configuration and make it short.
Fortunately, nginx is made in such a way that normal configuration is real short.
-But if you have 60 web-sites that is configured in almost the same way (apart from the subdomain or domain name and a few environment variables), then it's cumbersome to create a configuration file for each site.
Generating configurations for each site also introduces a lot of redundancy; now you have two configuration files per site; one to feed to the script for defining the actual configuration and one output from the script, which is fed into the server.
The configuration files that are fed into the server are of course 'expanded' and thus use a little more space than the templates. Also it's confusing having two configuration files per site. Debugging and fixing errors is a little more complicated than just having one file, which is expanded using the built-in 'include' directive.

As many others, I started looking at using 'set' for shortening the configurations.
I know that at this moment you're thinking: "This is wrong", and you're perfectly right.
Variables are evaluated at runtime, which means they'll slow down the performance of the server.

-But what if we had something similar to variables.